Ⅰ. BACKGROUND

Hong Kong's story has been, and still is, an amalgamated marvel of the unique achievements of our predecessors and the unstoppable march of its dynamic inhabitants. Hong Kong has occupied, and still occupies, a strategic position as the most modern cosmopolitan gateway into Mainland China, and is universally recognised as one of the leading international financial centres in the world.

Historical circumstances and Hong Kong's unparalleled advantages, including its singular and irreplaceable location, have attracted to Hong Kong many people from all over the world in the 20th century. The free market environment has enabled Hong Kong to develop a multi-faceted economy, and propelled Hong Kong's unprecedented growth and eventual meteoric rise to international prominence. The industrious and creative people of Hong Kong were quick to grasp every opportunity and every opening to realise their potential and talent to the fullest extent.

Hong Kong's success has always been founded on a system, and a society, which respects individual freedom and the rule of law. We enjoy the liberty to aspire towards a better tomorrow, to develop our entrepreneurial spirit, and to compete in a fair and free market economy. We enjoy a free press and information is readily available to us via a network of public sources and popular media. Hong Kong's sophisticated infrastructure and refined community framework have provided us with a unique place in which we can all live and work in the lifestyle of our own choice.

Hong Kong has now progressed into the new millennium. Six years after the reunification in 1997, the transition has by and large been considered smooth and successful, and in compliance with the concept of "one country, two systems". But the passage of time has also brought with it challenges of the modern age and Hong Kong is readying itself for the calls of its demanding future.

 

Ⅱ. LIBERAL PARTY'S VISION

Vision for the future

We, the Liberal Party, feel strongly about Hong Kong and are committed to its future. Hong Kong's political structure must serve its best interests and facilitate development of its capitalist economy. We support Article 5 of the Basic Law, which stipulates that: "The socialist system and policies shall not be practised in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, and the previous capitalist system and way of life shall remain unchanged for 50 years".

Freedom is our way of life. In our vision - we believe that it is only by preserving such freedom that we can continue to preserve our stability and prosperity. This will in turn secure continued freedom for ourselves and our children for the future generations to come.

Our vision is a vision of a caring society for all to live in, and a political system in which the interests of the different sectors of society will be fairly represented, carefully balanced and justly upheld.

The Liberal Party is dedicated to the bringing of these visions into reality. We seek the support of the Hong Kong people in our quest to attain our goal, and to make Hong Kong an even better place. We will put the interests of Hong Kong and its people first. We believe in equity and opportunity for all, as we do not believe in unfair domination by any particular sector of the society over the others, whether measured by way of number, influence or creed. Likewise, we believe that there shall be no discriminatory oppression of other law-abiding citizens, minority classes or ethnic sectors of the society.

In the pursuit of our visions, the Liberal Party will be open-minded, receptive and constructive. We are responsive to ideas and we will seek to enhance the civic awareness of our next generation. We trust that, under a responsible government, Hong Kong will continue to prosper in the times ahead.

 

Ⅲ. LIBERAL PARTY'S VALUES

The Liberal Party believes in values that may reflect the virtues of the Hong Kong society and can stand the test of times. We maintain these common principles as the solid foundation upon which we intend to build a peaceful, prosperous, and dynamic new era for the people of Hong Kong.

FREEDOM

Freedom is fundamental to the thriving spirit that lies behind the success story of Hong Kong. Individual freedoms, exercised responsibly, allow us to pursue happiness without fear or impediment. Freedom affords an individual the liberty to think and to act naturally without dread for undue bias and unfair reprisals, thereby spawning creativity, ingenuity, and industriousness. Freedom inspires entrepreneurial spirit and motivates the aspirations that compel us to constantly seek to improve ourselves and the society in which we live.

Social and economic freedom underpinned by a small, open and efficient government, a free market economy and a low and simple taxation system is the bedrock of Hong Kong's success. We will guard jealously against any attempt to encroach upon this fundamental freedom enjoyed by Hong Kong's people.

DEMOCRACY

Democracy is the recognition of human dignity and respect for the rights of men.

Hong Kong is a Special Administrative Region under the sovereignty of the People's Republic of China. Hong Kong needs a democracy which is consistent with the concept of "Hong Kong people administering Hong Kong". This means a system which would provide its people with the opportunity to participate in the process of government without unfairly sacrificing the legitimate expectations of the minority and the weak, whilst at the same time assuring due consideration to and equitable representation for the different sectors of our multi-faceted community.

We firmly believe in the maintenance of a competent and potent mechanism of checks and balances over the various branches of government, namely, the Executive, the Legislature and the Judiciary. Such mechanism is indispensable for Hong Kong because we need an effective means at institutional level to counteract any possible abuses of power and any inclination towards authoritarian rule.

We believe that democracy demands a government which is transparent, accountable, responsible and responsive, and which works in the interests of the populace. Truth and public trust are the tenets that we hold highest for public office requirements. We share with everyone in Hong Kong a civic responsibility for participation and participatory governance in fulfilling our commitments to the community.

By the same token, we the Liberal Party oppose all forms of suppressions that will undermine our fundamental values, and encroach upon the high degree of autonomy of Hong Kong.

To ensure open and good government, we believe that a free and responsible media will be an invaluable asset to our community. It may serve as our de facto Fourth Estate for the monitoring of any governmental abuses, as well as a fair outlet for the airing of diverse voices from all sectors of the society.

ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL PROGRESS

Economic and social progress for Hong Kong's people is the primary and perennial target to which we must all dedicate our efforts. We will strive for an even better future by sustained dynamic growth through sound economic principles and planning. Building on proven success, we aim to create an economy that will bring about jobs and wealth for all. In addition, we must, through long term planning, ensure that the growth we seek will be a sustainable one and that our children enjoy the best education so that they remain competitive in this increasingly globalised economy. We must constantly look to the future, welcome new technologies, adapt to innovative industries, and emulate leading trends in international trade. Our resources must be used cost-effectively and efficiently, and we must provide for social justice in line with our economic progress.

As a community, we must help those members of our society who are unable to help themselves. As a multi-faceted economy relying on a full range of service industries upon which our GDP output is predominantly based, priorities must be given to the further improvement of Hong Kong's investment environment in order to enhance our global and regional competitiveness. The upholding of the principles for a level playing field, and transparency in government, have become the prerequisites in our bid to achieve economic growth.

RULE OF LAW

Rule of law offers equal justice for all, and proffers special favour to none. No single individual should be above the law, and corrupt practices to circumvent the law can under no circumstances be tolerated. Anyone accused of violating the law shall be presumed innocent until proven guilty, and be accorded with full recognition of human rights and legal protection. This includes the need for a fair and speedy trial and a right to legal representation. Rule of law is the foundation for order in our society, and to maintain order we must be prepared to rehabilitate offenders when appropriate, punish when necessary, and prevent further offences when required with effective deterrence commensurate with the guarantee of human rights in our system.

EQUAL OPPRTUNITY AND FAIR PLAY

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY is an indispensable precondition to a fair and level playing field that will allow all people to achieve whatever goals they set for themselves, regardless of race, creed, religion, sex, age, or status. An individual's status must be judged by merit, and discrimination has no place in the appraisal of the person. All Hong Kong people including our disabled and less gifted should have the equal right to access an array of educational and training opportunities, in order to better equip themselves for a growingly competitive world.

MAINTAINING PEACE AND ORDER

SOCIAL HARMONY AND STABILITY must be preserved to ensure a living environment conducive to social and economic progress. We fully support our law enforcement agencies in their tireless efforts to maintain law and order. We believe that all trends and forces that propagate violence in Hong Kong, and all merchants of fear and hatred, must be curbed.

PARTICIPATION IN GOVERNANCE

Active participation in the governance of Hong Kong, and putting Hong Kong and its people's interests first, is the essence of everything that we stand for. Hong Kong is our home, a place where courage and determination are rewarded, and hopes and dreams realised. Our families live and work here, with a long revered tradition that seeks something more to life for each generation. Our values are derived from the collective wisdom of our predecessors, and long may it survive. To preserve these values, we must actively participate and become a leading force in the governance of Hong Kong.

 

Ⅳ. RELATIONSHIP WITH THE CENTRAL AUTHORITIES OF CHINA

Under the framework laid down by the Basic Law, the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region is a local administrative region of China, which shall enjoy a high degree of autonomy whilst coming directly under the Central People's Government.

The Liberal Party believes that the spirit of co-ordination and co-operation should be further enhanced in our relationship with the Mainland throughout the existence of the Special Administrative Region. We believe that a mutually supportive and trusting working relationship is crucial and conducive to Hong Kong's continued prosperity and stability. Due to the divergent values and historical heritage that underlie the respective developments of the two systems, it is for us to do our best to uphold our high degree of autonomy within the precinct of the Basic Law, and to guard our invaluable freedoms and rights that have proved to be so pivotal to the proven success of Hong Kong.

We are here to serve the interests of Hong Kong. We believe it is in the interests of Hong Kong and its people to uphold at all times a constructive relationship and uninhibited dialogue with the Central Authorities. Therefore, we take it as our responsibility to win over their support for matters that would benefit Hong Kong.

 

Ⅴ. RELATIONSHIP WITH INTERNATIONAL BODIES

Hong Kong is an important trade, financial and service centre. To promote our economic success we must ensure that we continue to retain good working relationships with the international community and external trade bodies.

We support Hong Kong's continued membership to regional and global organizations, and our ongoing links with other countries and trade regions on the basis of equal opportunity and free competition.

We support all efforts by individuals, organizations and the Government to cultivate an atmosphere of co-operation and goodwill between other jurisdictions and Hong Kong.

 

Ⅵ. POLITICAL DEVELOPMENT

CHANGES BY EVOLUTION

We believe the ultimate aim of the election of all the members of the Legislative Council should be by universal suffrage and the selection of the Chief Executive by universal suffrage upon nomination by a broadly representative nominating committee in accordance with democratic procedures. The method for forming the Legislative Council and selecting the Chief Executive should be specified in the light of the actual situation in Hong Kong and in accordance with the principle of gradual and orderly progress. Any changes to the method for forming the Legislative Council or selecting the Chief Executive should give due consideration to the interests of the different sectors of our society and be made in the light of the actual situation in Hong Kong and in accordance with the principle of gradual and orderly progress.

Any changes to the political system, when deemed appropriate, should be gradual and orderly and, above all, should at all times preserve and protect economic prosperity and social stability. Such changes should be prudent, sensible, fair and equitable, and be introduced only in a manner which would clearly bring about a better future for the people of Hong Kong.

Ⅰ. 前言

香港能夠屢創經濟奇蹟,有賴港人多年來幹勁沖天,奮勇前進,締造無與倫比的成就。作為中國最現代化的國際城市,香港是外商進入內地市場必經之道,此策略地位至今未變。此外,香港也是名聞遐邇的國際金融中心,地位舉足輕重。

在二十世紀,世界各國人士紛紛來港生活,這其中除了因為歷史因素之外,還因為香港具備種種獨特的優勢,包括得天獨厚的地理位置。憑藉高度自由的市場環境, 香港逐步發展成為多元化的經濟體系,達致前所未有的繁榮,迅即躍登國際舞台。香港人以勤快而創新見稱,勇於把握每一次機遇,盡情發揮自己的潛能和天賦。

香港有一套行之有效的制度,社會尊重法治及個人自由,香港的成功正建基於此。我們能夠自由地追求美好生活,發揚企業精神、在自由和公平的市場互相競爭。我 們也享有新聞自由,能夠透過不同公共渠道及傳媒,輕易取得各種資訊。香港基礎建設先進,社區設施完備,市民可按照自己喜好生活作息,安居樂業。

香港已踏入新紀元,各界均普遍認同,九七回歸後十四年來的過渡期大致運作暢順,並符合「一國兩制」的原則。但隨著時代轉變,香港必須作好準備,迎接未來的挑戰。


Ⅱ. 自由黨的理想

前途展望

自由黨成員生於斯,長於斯,對香港有著濃厚感情,願意為香港的未來作出承擔。我們認為,香港的政治體制必須 以社會整體利益為依歸,並配合資本主義經濟的發展。我們支持落實《基本法》第五條:「香港特別行政區不實行社會主義制度和政策,保持原有的資本主義制度和 生活方式,五十年不變」。

香港市民一向習慣自由的生活方式。我們堅信,唯有充份保障個人自由,才能維繫本港的繁榮安定;亦只有這樣,才可以進一步保障我們和下一代,得以繼續享有自由的生活方式。

自由黨致力建立互相關懷的社會。我們認為,香港的政治制度,應該能讓社會各界別的利益,都能得到公平的代表、謹慎的平衡與公正的維繫。

自由黨致力實現這個理想,也希望市民認同我們的目標,與我們攜手共建美好家園。無論任何時候,我們都會以香港整體及市民利益為依歸。自由黨堅信社會應保持 公正,任何人均可獲平等機會。我們不能夠認同社會上個別界別,因其人數、影響力或信條,便可以有不公平的支配地位。同樣道理,任何奉公守法的市民、少數社 群及少數族裔人士,也不應該遭受歧視的壓制。

自由黨決心以開放、謙虛和務實的態度,實踐我們的理想。我們將廣泛聽取各界意見,並致力提高下一代的公民意識。我們堅信,若政府盡責領導,香港必可茁壯發展,開創新路。


Ⅲ. 自由黨的信念

自由黨秉持的信念,植根香港社會,經得起時代考驗。自由黨將堅守以下原則,致力為香港市民締造安定、繁榮及朝氣勃勃的新紀元社會。

自由

香港的成功全憑港人自強不息的拼搏精神,而自由的社會環境正是箇中關鍵。行使得宜的個人自由,可讓我們得以安心地追求幸福生活。自由的社會環境,亦可以讓 個人的思想和行動獲充份保障,有動力奮發向上,盡情發揮靈巧創意和嶄新思維,毋須擔心遭受歧視和報復。自由的環境也可激發企業精神,激勵我們為實現理想而 不斷努力改進自己,改進社會。

開放而高效率的小政府、自由市場經濟和簡單的低稅率制度,有效鞏固了我們所享有的社會及經濟自由,這亦正是香港賴以成功的基石。我們將竭盡所能,捍衛香港市民所享有的各項基本自由。

民主

民主是對人類尊嚴的肯定,對人民基本權利的尊重。

香港是中華人民共和國的特別行政區,需要一套符合「港人治港」概念的民主政制。這套制度必須為市民提供參與管治過程的機會,不會不公平地犧牲了一些少數與弱勢社群的合理期望,同時能公平地照顧及代表我們這個多元化社會各個不同的界別。

我們堅信,行政、立法及司法機關之間,必須維持一個有效及有力的監察與制衡機制。我們需要建立良好而有效的制度,以抗衡任何可能出現的濫權或走向獨裁管治的情況,這對香港是不可或缺的。

自由黨認為,民主的首要條件是要有一個具透明度、高度問責、有責任感而能順應民意的政府,施政以市民利益為依歸。誠信與公信力,是我們對公共機構要求的最高原則。我們冀望與香港市民一起實踐公民責任,積極參與施政,為建設社會盡一分力。

因此,自由黨反對任何危害社會基本價值,削弱香港高度自治的舉動。

自由黨深信,負責任而自由運作的傳媒,可確保政府的開放與良好施政,對社會是非常有價值的資產。此外,傳媒更是行政、立法及司法以外的「第四權」,肩負起監察政府任何濫權情況的責任,並能夠公平反映社會各界的意見。

社會經濟發展

改善經濟及社會的發展,是香港市民竭盡所能追求的目標。我們應該致力透過卓越的經濟原則和良好的規劃,維持增長動力,創造更美好的將來。汲取過往的成功經 驗,我們會致力建立能創造就業機會及財富的經濟體系。此外,我們也要配合長遠規劃,推動可持續發展;並建立完善的教育制度,加強下一代的競爭力。我們必須 高瞻遠矚、勇於引進新科技、發展富創意的產業、並緊貼國際貿易發展的潮流。與此同時,社會資源的運用必須具有效率,注重成本效益,社會公義的推展必須配合 經濟發展的步伐。

香港是一個互相關懷的社會,我們必須向有需要人士伸出援手。香港是以各類服務業為主的多元化經濟體系,因此政府的首要任務是改善投資環境,加強本港的區域 以至國際競爭力。而爭取經濟增長的先決條件,在於維持本港的公平競爭環境,並加強政府的透明度。

法治精神

在尊重法治的社會,法律面前人人平等,任何人都不應擁有特權,也沒有人可以凌駕法律。社會不能容忍任何妨礙 司法公正的行為。在未經法庭審訊並作出裁決前,所有被指控違法的人都應被視為無罪,並享有充份人權及法律保障,包括有權獲得公平而有效率的審訊,以及有權 要求律師辯護。法治精神是維持社會秩序的根基。社會應適時給予犯罪者改過自新的機會,必要時須加以懲罰;或在保障人權的同時,以果斷措施防止他們再犯罪行。

平等機會及公平競爭

平等機會是建立一個公平競爭環境所必不可少的先決條件。公平的競爭環境可以讓所有市民追求個人理想,不會因 其種族、信念、宗教、性別、年齡或社會地位而受到歧視。每個人的身份地位,必須取決於其個人成就及貢獻,不能帶有任何歧視性的衡量標準。全香港市民,包括 傷殘及智障人士,都應該獲得均等機會接受教育及培訓,用以充實自己,迎接挑戰。

社會安定及秩序

社會環境和諧穩定,才能保證一個經濟與社會都能穩步發展的生活環境。我們全力支持紀律部門以不屈不撓的精神維持法治及秩序。我們認為任何助長暴力、散播恐懼與仇恨的趨向和勢力,都應該予以打擊遏止。

積極參政

積極參政,並以香港及港人利益為依歸,是自由黨為達致所追求理念的實質所在。香港是我們的家,我們的勇氣和 決心,在這裡獲得回報;我們的希望和夢想,在這裡得以實現。我們的家庭都在這裡生活與工作,為每一代人營造更美好的生活是我們優良的傳統。我們的信念繼承 自前人的集體智慧,經得起時間的考驗。為維護這些信念,我們必須積極參政,成為管治香港的重要力量。


Ⅳ.與中央政府的關係

《基本法》規定,香港是中華人民共和國一個享有高度自治權的地方行政區域,直轄於中央人民政府。

自由黨認為,在現時特別行政區的模式下,香港和中央政府的關係,必須繼續加強協調及合作。我們深信香港與中央政府建立互信互助的關係,對香港繼續保持繁榮 穩定,是重要而有建設性的。香港和內地多年來實施不同社會制度,價值觀和作風難免有所分別。香港應該在《基本法》的框架下,致力維護高度自治,捍衛香港賴 以成功的自由和權利。

自由黨致力服務香港。我們認為,與中央政府長期維持具建設性的關係,緊密溝通,符合香港以及所有市民的利益。我們會就有利香港整體的事項,全力爭取中央政府支持。


Ⅴ.與國際組織的關係

香港是馳名國際的貿易、金融及服務中心。我們必須與國際社會及外貿組織保持良好合作關係,才能維繫經濟發展。

自由黨支持香港繼續參與區域性及全球性組織,並在平等機會和自由競爭的前提下,與其他國家及地區保持聯繫。

自由黨也贊成政府、團體或個別人士,與其他司法管轄區加強溝通合作,促進雙邊關係。


Ⅵ. 政制發展

循序漸進

自由黨認為,立法會的產生辦法,應根據香港的實際情況和循序漸進的原則而規定,最終達致全部議員由普選產生的目標;而行政長官的產生辦法,也應根據香港的 實際情況和循序漸進的原則而規定,最終達致由一個有廣泛代表性的提名委員會,按民主程序提名後普選產生的目標。立法會及行政長官選舉辦法的任何修改,必須 充份考慮社會各界的利益,根據本港的實際情況,按循序漸進的原則進行。

本港的政治制度有需要作出改變時,應該以循序漸進的原則進行。尤其重要的是,任何政制發展都必須以確保經濟繁榮、維繫社會穩定為大前提。政制的任何改變, 都必須是深思熟慮、合情合理、符合均衡及公平原則,並確實能夠為港人締造更美好的明天。